Announcement

Major changes have been made site wide. If you experience problems, please send tazz. a PM.
tazz.
oz.
+1,338|5719|Sydney | ♥

@newbie

I don't think a 4070 has been officially stated as a model that was going to be released. Imo the 4080 12gb was the 4070, and they rebranded it to throw another $100 on the RRP after the Bitcoin crash

@uzi

Jesus what is this fever dream 👀
everything i write is a ramble and should not be taken seriously.... seriously.
unnamednewbie13
Moderator
+2,023|6316|USA

I think you're right, I just didn't make the mental connection between 4070 and it likely, speculatively being a 2023 release. I would be more surprised though if there were no plans for it and NVIDIA had no expectations of what to expect from its performance.

I'll cautiously hazard that the 12GB 4080 weren't using the best of the GPU batches. perhaps they'll be 4070 Supers.

@zeek Toss in a Cyriak mode and I'm in.
SuperJail Warden
Gone Forever
+609|3264
How I feel when I need to sign into an HP account in order to use the scan feature on my all in one HP Printer/Scanner.
https://media.tenor.com/1f2P27PWbUcAAAAd/angry-daenerys-got-game-of-thrones.gif
How I feel after having to buy a cable since Windows keeps forgetting the HP printer every time I sync it to Windows.
https://thumbs.gfycat.com/BoringGrizzledHogget-size_restricted.gif

In all seriousness an all in one printer from China that also secretly installs a script to mine bitcoin would be better than whatever HP is offering. The HP app could be mining bitcoin for all I know.


...


This is the sort of stuff that Congress needs to punish tech companies for. Instead they are writing bills about social media.

Last edited by SuperJail Warden (2022-10-19 18:28:35)

https://i.imgur.com/xsoGn9X.jpg
unnamednewbie13
Moderator
+2,023|6316|USA

unnamednewbie13 wrote:

Eyeballing a 43" 'aorus' monitor. While I don't technically need a new monitor, it's a 4k, 144hz IPS with 1ms response. I haven't explored the rest of the numbers too in depth, or looked into component sourcing, but this thing is under $700 rn and putting me in the mood for shopping.

Ideally, the local Best Buy would have one on display.
FWP: is not an IPS. Is a VA, which doesn't surprise me. I knew something was off for that price, which is why I don't rely on Newegg listings for specs. Even Amazon got it right, although one review called it a TN.

Aorus FV43U - https://www.gigabyte.com/Monitor/AORUS-FV43U/sp#sp

Back to the drawing board. I don't want to go back below 30", which simplifies my options nicely.

32'' UltraGear™ UHD 4K Nano IPS with ATW 1ms 144Hz - https://www.lg.com/us/monitors/lg-32gq950-b
$900 on 'egg. $300 LG replacement for the failed $700 ASUS has treat me extremely well over time. One stuck or dead pixel I mostly forget about.

Still drooling at the 5k Apple Studio Displays. Maybe if I get a bigger space for a home office, one for the planned macbook.
unnamednewbie13
Moderator
+2,023|6316|USA

FWP2: My browser stealth-changed my search engine back to google as the default, probably in an update. Took me a bit too long to even notice. Now I have to go through and check what other settings were reset.
SuperJail Warden
Gone Forever
+609|3264

SuperJail Warden wrote:

How I feel when I need to sign into an HP account in order to use the scan feature on my all in one HP Printer/Scanner.
https://media.tenor.com/1f2P27PWbUcAAAAd/angry-daenerys-got-game-of-thrones.gif
How I feel after having to buy a cable since Windows keeps forgetting the HP printer every time I sync it to Windows.
https://thumbs.gfycat.com/BoringGrizzledHogget-size_restricted.gif

In all seriousness an all in one printer from China that also secretly installs a script to mine bitcoin would be better than whatever HP is offering. The HP app could be mining bitcoin for all I know.


...


This is the sort of stuff that Congress needs to punish tech companies for. Instead they are writing bills about social media.
My next printer will be a Brother. I set one up for a coworker and it was super easy. It didn't ask for me to create an account to print something.
https://i.imgur.com/xsoGn9X.jpg
uziq
Member
+492|2996
new mac OSX looks super sweet.
https://www.apple.com/macos/ventura/

anyone upgraded yet? i would but i'm afraid half of my work apps will stop working. ditto the music software i've pilfered.
SuperJail Warden
Gone Forever
+609|3264
Amazon updated their music app that I pay $9 a month for to include podcast. The app is now barely useable. I have to navigate some tabs to get to my music that used to be on the front page. Tabs are just not loading either. I am stuck in a loop.
https://i.imgur.com/xsoGn9X.jpg
pirana6
Go Cougs!
+669|5835|Washington St.

uziq wrote:

new mac OSX looks super sweet.
https://www.apple.com/macos/ventura/

anyone upgraded yet? i would but i'm afraid half of my work apps will stop working. ditto the music software i've pilfered.
I have it. Very little noticeable differences. System Prefs is now System Settings and looks like the iOS settings. Other than that it's wholly uneventful. When the ad has "improved mail search" as the top billed upgrade, don't expect much. So far nothing bad though! Just nothing to write home about.
uziq
Member
+492|2996
thanks for feedback. i guess beta is almost 6 months ago at this point so i don’t have anything to worry about with software compatibility. plus i’m on the last gen intel macs not the silicon.

i was happy to see the iphone can double as a camera for the laptop. always wondered why that wasn’t a feature. particularly so when they’ve left the macs with utterly shitty 720p cameras thru most of the last decade. that was definitely the most out of date and disappointing thing about my last one when i bought it brand new. i could take 4k HDR photos on a mini-sized phone but a $3500 laptop has a 720p camera with colour reproduction from the compressed JPEG facebook era? wtf? being able to just use my phone as a ‘side car’ camera is a huge QOL benefit to me as i video call home/friends a lot.

i’m also really into the new app organisation thing. being able to stack apps in the side of the screen. i use my laptop for literally everything, work and play and music, and right now i’ve been managing that by having 3 separate ‘desktops’ i can swipe between. not that elegant a solution when using a single 16” screen. the new way of dealing with it looks nifty and way more responsive. just much more convenient at getting to where you need to go and not having overlapping app windows fucking with your efforts constantly. editing and keeping my excel/invoicing stuff open all on one screen is a routine hot mess.
unnamednewbie13
Moderator
+2,023|6316|USA

At first glance, this 32" IPS BenQ is pretty close to what I'd be happy with specs-wise. The stand is a little fugly, but as usual these are wall-mountable. Another tiny remote for me to lose, too. $1k is more than I've ever spent on a (personal) monitor in my life, though.

https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16824014880 (as usual, not trusting newegg on accurate specs)

I think I'm looking at 4Ks also to excuse fantasizing about replacing my own monitor with its one dead/stuck pixel. Really stands out on a white screen.
_j5689_
Dreads & Bergers
+361|6261|Riva, MD
I'm glad my new TV has Android TV built in, it has greatly increased the versatility of the TV with all the apps you can install.  I was playing around with GeForce Now and couldn't get it to play very well, the latency was just too much and it also kind of looked like shit between the low bitrate and low settings on the cloud PC.  But I also installed Steam Link and it looks & plays fantastic, I played Assassin's Creed: Odyssey for a few hours and would actually forget I was streaming until I occasionally looked over and saw the game on my computer monitor as well.  Much better performance than what the Apple TV 4K in the living room was getting, maybe I'll have to try that again and see if it's just the updated router firmware that made the difference.  I'm also surprised by how little latency there is between my XBox controller and the TV over bluetooth, everything is pretty close to instantaneous just like you'd want and expect.

Last edited by _j5689_ (2022-11-24 01:16:33)

SuperJail Warden
Gone Forever
+609|3264
https://i.imgur.com/2W7Xsjt.png
"You don't need a 3080" they said.
https://i.imgur.com/xsoGn9X.jpg
unnamednewbie13
Moderator
+2,023|6316|USA

Doing what, exactly?
uziq
Member
+492|2996
yeah “need” is doing an awful lot of work in that sentence. what for? you could have taken yourself on a 2 week vacation somewhere nice for that money. had a meaningful life experience.
unnamednewbie13
Moderator
+2,023|6316|USA

3080s are sub-$1k now, and still not worth it imo. IIRC triple 4k desktop could be accomplished with a lot less computing power at the time he upgraded, so it wasn't just for work?

I could see it if someone was like a flight sim hound and tucking in for 2020 isolation.
SuperJail Warden
Gone Forever
+609|3264
It gets up to 90% when I am in the middle of a Total War game with max unit sizes. It was at 40% just idling at the world map.
https://i.imgur.com/xsoGn9X.jpg
Dilbert_X
The X stands for
+1,796|5650|eXtreme to the maX
My old XP box has to be booted twice, first time it stalls halfway thru loading the user profile, hard reset and it boots OK.

Would this be a battery or capacitor charging issue?
Русский военный корабль, иди на хуй!
uziq
Member
+492|2996

SuperJail Warden wrote:

It gets up to 90% when I am in the middle of a Total War game with max unit sizes. It was at 40% just idling at the world map.
erm aren't RTS games notoriously CPU heavy rather than GPU intensive?
uziq
Member
+492|2996

Dilbert_X wrote:

My old XP box has to be booted twice, first time it stalls halfway thru loading the user profile, hard reset and it boots OK.

Would this be a battery or capacitor charging issue?
sounds like something with the POST process if it's not getting to OS start-up. could be faulty RAM, CMOS battery, or even a glitched BIOS/ROM set-up.

maybe try flashing the BIOS to a new version?

i've never heard of the CMOS battery itself wearing out in the lifetime of any modern machine.

it could be an incipient PSU issue, particularly with one of the high-voltage rails, if you have a power-hungry CPU or GPU in that machine. i've had it before where a machine had to double-kick to properly boot up and get the GPU fans spinning. the PSU was bad.
Dilbert_X
The X stands for
+1,796|5650|eXtreme to the maX
Thanks, maybe I'll just try blowing the dust out and reseating all the connections.

There's nothing power hungry in it, its 18 years old and has been in the shed for the last five years, PSU is about 10 years old.
Русский военный корабль, иди на хуй!
uziq
Member
+492|2996
if it's just a default office workstation type thing, you could probably just find another PSU for free from any sort of scrap pile. they're practically worthless.
Dilbert_X
The X stands for
+1,796|5650|eXtreme to the maX
I'll see if I can pick up a PSU from somewhere, although I think any poking might finally kill it.

Last edited by Dilbert_X (2022-12-08 02:38:46)

Русский военный корабль, иди на хуй!
SuperJail Warden
Gone Forever
+609|3264

uziq wrote:

SuperJail Warden wrote:

It gets up to 90% when I am in the middle of a Total War game with max unit sizes. It was at 40% just idling at the world map.
erm aren't RTS games notoriously CPU heavy rather than GPU intensive?
I max graphic settings for the battles too. I am using every bit of the PC for the battles.
https://i.imgur.com/xsoGn9X.jpg
unnamednewbie13
Moderator
+2,023|6316|USA

@dilbs: Side note, 18 years old is also within the capacitor plague days. Maybe it's the problem, maybe it isn't. There are visual cues and tests you can run with a multimeter. More conveniently, an ESR meter. Google guides, but probably a waste of time beyond academic curiosity.

e: check out eevblog (and mike's electric) stuff on youtube or allaboutcircuits.com

Last edited by unnamednewbie13 (2022-12-08 06:06:44)

Board footer

Privacy Policy - © 2023 Jeff Minard