Miller
IT'S MILLER TIME!
+271|6753|United States of America
Well, this is mildy confusing to me.  But, ever since I started going to a public High School this year, it seems nearly everyone has a D average.  I think it's sad to see this as I am an all A student with a 4.0 right now.  I even have been going to a class just to watch what goes on.  In Algebra I have noticed, texting, sleeping, and talking is a favorite of students, and well, that goes for all classes.  In a program called AVID, your grades decide how much tutoring you get after school... I have 0 hours due for this week, though most students have on average about 2 hours due.  And some even have 7 hours due.  The way they tutor you is like this: A's and B's owe no time, C's owe thirty minutes, D's and F's an hour.  I think it is kind of sad to see all this crap in the public system... as my private school, most everyone was above 3.0, but it's just pathetic now.  There is one kid constantly goofing around, and when he says something trying to be funny or look smart, I will just blatantly say, "Your grades are showing otherwise." He'll get pissed and I will laugh.  The only reason he has an A in his science class is because, he cheats off of my test.  Though I have recently moved during two tests.  My grades were 96% and 94% on those, his were 73% and 77%.  Big difference.  Does anyone have any opinions on why we have such idiots in school now?

Last edited by Miller (2006-10-24 20:55:37)

unnamednewbie13
+2,053|6769|PNW

Gradewhore. Sorry, just had to.
liquix
+51|6451|Peoples Republic of Portland
damn those social lives.
unnamednewbie13
+2,053|6769|PNW

Seriously, though, part of it's media-induced popularity of stupidity and the opinion that 'school sucks,' and part of it's poor parents of the sort that doesn't pay any heed to the education of their kids. Getting A's and having a social life are completely compatible...depending on who you want to be friends with.

liquix wrote: