Poll

Intel or AMD? (DUAL CORE ONLY)

Intel77%77% - 42
Amd22%22% - 12
Total: 54
Shadow893
lel
+75|6708|England
So I've been deciding for about two months now about whether to get an Intel system or an AMD one. I searched (not very well truth be known) so if there is a previous thread about this then please direct me to it. (Readies the flame proof jacket)

In my dilema I've been tossing and froing between the two. The AMD's are cheaper with faster clock speeds but then I've heard that Intels outperform them by a long way. The Intel's on the other hand have slower clock speeds, for the same price, but then I saw that the clock speeds between the two are totally different.

So... the big debate - what should I go for? Intel or AMD? I have a budget of £120 so if anyone can help I would be hugely grateful.

Last edited by Shadow893 (2008-01-04 16:37:44)

Jibbles
Rifle Expert
+56|6645|Mexifornia, USA
I've used both. Intels perform better imo, but I've never ran an AMD with an Intel that had comparable specs.

I have an Intel dual core now and it handles anything I throw at it.

Last edited by Jibbles (2008-01-04 16:39:08)

Point&Shoot
Tank Whore
+52|6563|Canada
AMD is a better price for what you get.  They also produce less heat and AMD does sometimes have the best chip, but it does go back an forth.
Little BaBy JESUS
m8
+394|6165|'straya
personally i have a AMD dual core... and my brother has a Intel dual core... and i must say... my AMD out performs his intel in every way
aimless
+166|6141|Texas
I've heard great things about the Intel C2D E6750; and I just ordered it myself.

Here are some benchmarks for a lot of CPU's:
http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu_2007.html
mtb0minime
minimember
+2,418|6670