BUDFORCE
Moderator Emeritus
+76|6742|London UK

Just wondering is anyone else an alcoholic?

I know I say it in quite a jokign mannor, but I have been drinking nearly every evening for about 3 years now.

I dont get drunk every evening, sometimes just a few beers, infact I very rarely get drunk now, because I know all too well the side effects of waking up the next morning feeling like shit.

Most nights I will drink about 4 - 6 cans of beer  (1 can is 500ml at 4%  so about 2 units each)

I can do this and wake up feeling absolutely fine.

I dont drink in the day, only after work. I havnt gone a day without a drink now for a long time, and really Im not to sure if I still could, nor do I particularly want to try.
I exercise regularly, eat reasonably healthy and I dont smoke

I love alcohol, I liek the way its relaxes you in teh evening, makes music sound better and makes it easy fall asleep and get a good nights sleep.

So, for me at this stage in my life, I dont really think it is a problem at all, although I know I am classed as an alcoholic.

Anyone mind sharing your own thoughts about alcohol and you?
notorious
Nay vee, bay bee.
+1,396|6716|The United Center
Alcoholism is a disease, but it's the only disease you can get yelled at for having. "Dammit, Otto, you are an alcoholic." "Dammit, Otto, you have Lupus." One of those two doesn't sound right.
unnamednewbie13
+2,053|6741|PNW

Except people don't go out and voluntarily give themselves Lupus.
fadedsteve
GOP Sympathizer
+266|6460|Menlo Park, CA
I have 3 DUI's in the state of California (driving under the influence)

I would say that throughout my high school and college years I was drinking alcoholically all the time.

But the real question is what is a normal drinker and what is an alcoholic??

I would say if drinking has created negative consequences for you, and you continue to drink despite those negative consequences, then you ARE an alcoholic.