Poll

If one draws his knife, will you? If 2 guys knife, will you killsteal?

Yes to first, no to second. Show of sportsmanship IMO.44%44% - 56
No to both. Knife fights honored, but don't wantmyself.7%7% - 9
No first, yes second. I got a gun to shoot people!18%18% - 24
Yes to both. Knife fight is fun, but i want points too.29%29% - 38
Total: 127
The ODM
+4|6782|Holland
I think everyone has been in this situation a couple of times in Battlefield2: In a 1 on 1 gunfight, one player runs out of ammo and switches to his knife. Ofcourse, reloading takes some times and a knife is good. Strangely for me, in BF2, the other player will usually (talking out of experience) reload his main gun and shoot anyway. Or he draws his knife and one of them gets shot by someone else.

I started playing the battlefield series with 1942, however i liked the DC mod there alot better, especially the map Lostvillage. It was quite common that one ran out of ammo and drew his knife, and the opponent would usually (again talking out of experience) draw his knife, even if he had ammo left. Any bystanders would wait for the knife fight to end before walking on/shoothing the knife fight winner, in case of an enemy.

In Battlefield2 this does not seem to happen very often. Is it because of the larger scaled battles? Is it because of the amount of ammo everyone has? Is the knife in BF2 not good enough, or the pistol to good, or the reload times to short? Or maybe it's because there's always a teammate/enemy close by to kill you/steal your kill? Or is it because there's a chance the player dies in a knifefight, losing his advantage of still having bullets, and risk a chance to get a death/miss some points?

Personally, if an opponent of mine draws his knife, he's saying "Hey, I'm out, i only got this knife left, you can shoot me if you want." I'll draw my knife, seems like better sportmanship to me. The extra death i might get by it doesn't matter that mucht right?