RD_The_Dog
+87|6628
The Knife:  A weapon most player overlook in Battlefield 2.  It is rarely used, and in most cases is left collecting dust in its' sheath, never to see the light of day.  But the knife IS an effective weapon, and when it is used efficiently and correctly, can get you out of very tight situations quickly, and very stylishly I might add.  This is my very first attempt at a guide of any sorts.  Feel free to flame or disagree with anything i say.  I don't claim to be the Best in the field, but i do have plenty of experience with the knife, and it is responsible for 8% of my kills. 

On a side note, I would have loved to have made this guide earlier to help players out with Expert Knife, but with the addition of version 1.3, the expert knife badge has now very much become a joke.  I commend player who got the badge pre-1.3 (and not on Knife/Pistol servers) as 17 knife kills in a round is no mean feat.  It is however very possible, and very probable given the right "know-how". 

Some notes on the knife: 
It kills all infantry with one effective strike, regardless of where you connect, even those with body armour.

You never run out of ammo with the knife.

All kits have knives, not all kits have grenades.

Contrary to my first point, you will not always kill the enemy with one strike.  BF2's crappy net code make the hit detection for knife strikes terrible, and often you will need to connect more than once.  On the other-hand, you may swing and miss, but still get the kill. 

Anyway, lets get started.

0. Best and worst kits for knifing.

This is really up to you.  Kits with body armour are good, because you can take more damage, but you can sprint more without armour, and some kits are less visible, like sniper.  Anti-tank and support kits are more visible, so you have less chance of being stealth.  IMO, the kit to which the knife is the of the greatest Value is the sniper.  Its his most effective line of defence(and offence) at close range