• Index » 
  • Community » 
  • Tech » 
  • Totally frustrated with some sort of freak choppiness/lag. Plz advise
Beats
+2|6684
Hey guys, hoping for some help here.  Let me try and describe my issue a bit for you.

Just got back into playing BF2 after a very long absence.  I have always played this game with all the graphics settings on as high as possible and always had flawless gameplay as far as performance goes.  Running 2 gigs ram and a 7800 gtx video card.

Well, since I started playing again I have been having this absolutely frustrating issue where the gameplay is perfect, as it always was, except now for some puzzling reason the game goes EXTREMELY choppy for about 45 seconds every 3 mins or so and then all of a sudden snaps out of it back to perfect gameplay again.  Its enough that I can't play anymore, it ruins the game.  Can't fly or do anythign because I know at any second im going to have insane lag for 45 seconds or so. 

At first I figured it was lag, then ruled that out since my ping never changes.  Then figured it must be some sort of background program since the choppiness is so regular and always the exact same.. kinda though maybe it was some program checking for updates or something.. but can't figure it out.  I closed all my virus stuff, MSN, bittorent(obviously) and nothing seems to help.  I have no idea what is different on mycomputer from when I used to play and this never happened.

I even updated my nvidea drivers and that didn't help.  When I do the FPS command in BF2 it shows my FPS at about 90 most of the time and then all of a sudden every few minutes it plummets to 15 or so and is unplayable for 45 secs or so and then it just snaps right back up to 90.. I dont get it.