Mitch
16 more years
+877|6517|South Florida
My boss for example, is a loud-talking, assertive, confident, loud-mouthed person.
However, he is not an asshole, he is not annoying, nor is he any of the negative things you would normally imagine when thinking of a loud-mouthed person.

I am very talkative, outgoing, and a good conversationalist (im a door to door salesman so of coarse), but i feel i lack the loud-ness and assertiveness of a leader.

Can anyone recommend any books or other resources for becoming a more assertive person, without coming off as an asshole or cocky?

I need to learn to be assertive without sounding 'bossy'

Last edited by Mitch (2010-04-23 20:05:30)

15 more years! 15 more years!
tuckergustav
+1,590|5905|...

Mitch wrote:

My boss for example, is a loud-talking, assertive, confident, loud-mouthed person.
However, he is not an asshole, he is not annoying, nor is he any of the negative things you would normally imagine when thinking of a loud-mouthed person.

I am very talkative, outgoing, and a good conversationalist (im a door to door salesman so of coarse), but i feel i lack the loud-ness and assertiveness of a leader.

Can anyone recommend any books or other resources for becoming a more assertive person, without coming off as an asshole or cocky?

What do you sell d2d?  I use to canvas for an environmental org...yay hippies.  Anyways, some people just have that natural charisma...why not just talk to your boss...if he really is a good leader, then he shouldn't have a problem being your mentor.   It will also show initiative on your part. BONUS!
Marlo Stanfield
online poker tax cheating
+122|5154
you can't become a leader through a book
Mitch
16 more years
+877|6517|South Florida

tuckergustav wrote:

Mitch wrote: