rammunition
Fully Loaded
+143|5862
ok, as part of my assignment I have to illistrate and explain different types of power transmissions.

Now I have been told in one question to explain 2 different types of drive shafts. Now im struggling to find anything on this. BTW im a mechanical engineering student.

Can someone help?

Thanks
CammRobb
Banned
+1,510|6131|Carnoustie MASSIF
How about RWD vs. FWD, two different typed of driveshaft?
S3v3N
lolwut?
+685|6519|Montucky
Constant Velocity Drive Shaft

Cardan Drive Shaft

Double Cardan Drive Shaft
Benzin
+576|6000
Material? There's carbon fiber and also magnesium (both to save weight), then the traditional metals that auto manufacturers use on your average road car.
Dilbert_X
The X stands for
+1,810|6107|eXtreme to the maX
Just the shaft or including the joint?
Русский военный корабль, иди на хуй!
Roger Lesboules
Ah ben tabarnak!
+316|6578|Abitibi-Temiscamingue. Québec!

S3v3N wrote:

Cardan Drive Shaft

Dont talk about CV joint man, gotta change one on my car...making me a sad driving panda!
ghettoperson
+1,943|6650

CapnNismo wrote:

Material? There's carbon fiber and also magnesium (both to save weight), then the traditional metals that auto manufacturers use on your average road car.
I've never heard of a CF drive shaft. What cars use those?
S3v3N
lolwut?
+685|6519|Montucky

Roger Lesboules wrote:

S3v3N wrote:

Cardan Drive Shaft

Dont talk about CV joint man, gotta change one on my car...making me a sad driving panda!
Not that hard, remove big fucking nut, smash with hammer, remove upper ball joint and shock in needed, pry out CV shaft.  Install new CV shaft, top of transmission fluid

and profit
artofsurvival
Idiot!
+33|6358|the Great British Queendom :)
Erm, just to be stupid but has this got anything to do with "Differentials"? Surely a drive shaft is a piece of material that runs from gearage to driveshaft to axle? Making a driveshaft a solid object? I am no mechanic but hey thought I'd ask.
Roger Lesboules