Croak
+11|6794|San Marcos, CA
I've read a lot of complaints about the weakness of Stinger/IGLA sites, and AA in general.  While there is a lot of truth in them, they can still be quite effective, if you know how to use them, and are willing to pay the price.  The price should be worth paying since a good AA operator can greatly reduce the effectiveness of enemy jets and choppers.

So, here are some tips on how to leverage the strengths and minimize the weakness of AA.

1. Staying Alive.  Jets can SEE YOU!  Try to avoid actually being IN the gun mount as much as possible.   You're a nice green square or pink triangle to a jet pilot when in the gun mount, (as a pilot, I like to call that box the "Free Score!" box), and you can bet your buttocks that a good pilot is going to assign a manned AA site high priority.  So, if a jet is approaching, be prone or crouched near the launcher whenever possible, and then jump in after the jet has passed, and follow the tips below.  I realize that sometimes it's not possible to do this, and sometimes, you just gotta stand there with your John Thomas waving in the wind watching the bombs arc in or tracers draw a line towards your soft and tender bits, but that's part of the job.

With choppers, you're not quite as visible as you are with jets, but the combination of lower altitude and lower speed means a chopper pilot/gunner can just eyeball the mount and see the top of your cute little head and know he's looking at a live AA site, and act accordingly.  So once again, it's best to stay out of the site if you're in his field of vision and fire.  And good pilots know the locations of all the AA sites on a given map, don't give them an excuse to punch your ticket unless you can bloody their nose too.