Announcement

Join us on Discord: https://discord.gg/nf43FxS
unnamednewbie13
Moderator
+1,927|5854|USA

Why not just the exact same form exported to word and then back to pdf? Does there need to be something specific in the metadata? I have like a $70 license of acrobat on a work computer. Very small company, probably smaller than yours. Is your company really that hard up?
KEN-JENNINGS
I am all that is MOD!
+2,926|5714|949

unnamednewbie13 wrote:

Save it as a word template and then from word, save it as a pdf when filled out.
That generally works but sometimes the formatting gets screwed up.
unnamednewbie13
Moderator
+1,927|5854|USA

Seen it happen but yes, generally a visual 1:1.

Works for dilbert though, as I understand it he can just delegate the paperwork to someone with the program while the company rots.
Dilbert_X
The X stands for
+1,752|5188|eXtreme to the maX
Basically no-one has thought about it and no-one can be bothered to.
I have changed a lot of things for the better, although its been an uphill battle.

"Wow, you mean if we put tables in Excel instead of Word then we can sort them automatically instead of shifting them around by hand?
Thats pure genius right there"
#FreeBritney
unnamednewbie13
Moderator
+1,927|5854|USA

Followup on Kamo, seems to be doing largely what it said it would, but does take up a good amount of RAM and disk resources while it's doing it. Specifically from its folder, CefSharpBrowserSubprocess, currently taking up more ram than my 20 tab browser window.

A little more feedback from Kamo on what specifically it's doing with the resources it hogs at the time it's hogging them would be nice.
SuperJail Warden
Gone Forever
+502|2802
Facebook suffering major cyber attack?
https://i.imgur.com/xsoGn9X.jpg
unnamednewbie13
Moderator
+1,927|5854|USA

How are people going to conduct their own research now?
Dilbert_X
The X stands for
+1,752|5188|eXtreme to the maX
Now I don't know what to think, I don't even have any opinions, oh god.
#FreeBritney
uziq
Member
+420|2535

SuperJail Warden wrote:

Facebook suffering major cyber attack?
they took themselves offline during a domain update. probably a simple 'oh fuck' mistake made much, much worse by the fact that most of their staff are still WFH.

satisfyingly, this plus the recent whistleblower stories to come out of facebook's ex-staff means zuck the cuck has lost about $7 bill in net worth. though no doubt he'll regain it in about 4.5 days.

Last edited by uziq (2021-10-04 20:55:30)

Dilbert_X
The X stands for
+1,752|5188|eXtreme to the maX
Getting a crap load of intermittent DNS errors lately, modem isn't showing any problem so I assume its network related.
In which case no point contacting my ISP as all they'll tell me to do is reset my modem then give up.
#FreeBritney
uziq
Member
+420|2535
it's trivially easy to change your system's basic DNS. use google's, it's a common workaround.

resetting your modem or leaving your internet totally disconnected for 15-30 minutes can help. when you reconnect to your ISP's network, as part of the basic handshaking, you'll likely be assigned a different dynamic IP.

Last edited by uziq (2021-10-13 18:55:24)

SuperJail Warden
Gone Forever
+502|2802
Woke up this morning and my phone got a stealth update overnight. The alarm app that comes with the system updated. Not sure what else updated but it is asking me to restart the phone.

Those stealth updates can be creepy.
https://i.imgur.com/xsoGn9X.jpg
RTHKI
mmmf mmmf mmmf
+1,719|5820|Oxferd Ohire
Do you still have a pixel?
https://i.imgur.com/tMvdWFG.png
SuperJail Warden
Gone Forever
+502|2802
Yup
https://i.imgur.com/xsoGn9X.jpg
RTHKI
mmmf mmmf mmmf
+1,719|5820|Oxferd Ohire
Mine wanted a security update a week ago and 2 days ago it told me.it was.going to reboot whether I want it to or not overnight.
https://i.imgur.com/tMvdWFG.png
SuperJail Warden
Gone Forever
+502|2802
That's hilarious. "We are going to update"

At least it is doing it at night and it doesn't break shit like Windows though I assume it is easier to do an update on hardware you know rather than whatever someone Jerry rigged into their PC.
https://i.imgur.com/xsoGn9X.jpg
SuperJail Warden
Gone Forever
+502|2802
Last night my computer did a Windows update. Today the thing won't turn on.

Shut itself within minutes the first time. Second two times I don't get any output to the monitors.
https://i.imgur.com/xsoGn9X.jpg
uziq
Member
+420|2535
remove the graphics card and try booting with onboard graphics. maybe the windows update isn't sitting right with your GPU drivers.
SuperJail Warden
Gone Forever
+502|2802
This is actually a blessing. I needed to pack all of this up and focus on some important things for awhile. The triple monitors did make everything easier but was also a distraction. I still have a lot of random PC parts to consolidate too. I got the hard drive into another PC and got all of the stuff I needed.
https://i.imgur.com/xsoGn9X.jpg
uziq
Member
+420|2535
you only need to use one monitor and onboard graphics for long enough to boot in safe mode, clean all the drivers, and reinstall new ones.

assuming it is just a display device incompatibility.
SuperJail Warden
Gone Forever
+502|2802
I just reset the BIOS took the GPU out, reseated it and tried again. Worked though it didn't boot to the disk though I believe that is a result of the BIOS settings needing to be configured.

Anyhow I still need to pack this all away. I am taking it to Microcenter to get better wired, cleaned, looked over. I also want to add some final stuff to it and rather have them install it for me. For all of the trouble I am treating myself to getting a 2 TB SSD as my boot. The old boot is going into the backup PC as...back up.

Yanked the hard drives because I don't want someone looking at my files and having some misunderstanding about all of the disaster porn. The regular porn I am not worried about.

Also if Win 11 is available I am going to ask them to install it since I might as well get it done today so it doesn't all break when it wants to install itself later...

Windows updates remind of what Job from the Bible said about God
"“But he stands alone, and who can oppose him?(U)
    He does whatever he pleases.(V)
14 He carries out his decree against me,
    and many such plans he still has in store.(W)
15 That is why I am terrified before him;(X)
    when I think of all this, I fear him.(Y)
16 [Windows Update] has made my heart faint;(Z)
    the Almighty(AA) has terrified me.(AB)"

"So a MS update breaks your computer and you reward them by buying the newest Windows?" Yes
https://c.tenor.com/H97bjfWgJ60AAAAC/jessie-pinkman-breaking-bad.gif
https://i.imgur.com/xsoGn9X.jpg
unnamednewbie13
Moderator
+1,927|5854|USA

Unbelievably tempted by the upcoming m1 max mbp, but that would be like a $3000 pre-order with the hardware and software I'd put on it. My "treat yourself" mental voice gets a little shy when figures tip over into 4+.

I know I'm doomed to moving into Windows 11 because business PCs and I'm the company tech guy, but I'm really tired of Microsoft for personal use. I feel like the next time a Windows 10 update bricks things for a weekend, I'm just going to pull the trigger on an Apple.
pirana6
Go Cougs!
+645|5373|Washington St.
Does anybody know a good tool to mass-edit videos?

I have a season of a show and I just need the first ~21 seconds removed from every episode because it's nothing but the Universal Pictures spinning globe thing.

Preferably linux, preferably free.



edit: nevermind. 6 seconds of googling from my lazy ass... ffmpeg with a small amount of cli and a 2 line script will do the job

Last edited by pirana6 (2021-10-19 10:45:53)

unnamednewbie13
Moderator
+1,927|5854|USA

first solution from google,

ffmpeg

batch:

Code:

for %%a in ("*.mp4") do ffmpeg -i "%%a" -ss 20 -acodec copy -vcodec copy "newfiles\%%~na.mp4"
pirana6
Go Cougs!
+645|5373|Washington St.
damnit newbie you're too quick. thanks!

Board footer

Privacy Policy - © 2021 Jeff Minard