MaddOps
Who the hell elected you leader of this outfit?
+55|6586
OK, after all the recent posts of, "I threw all this stuff in place, and my stuff don't work," I've decided to write a little DIY (Do-in-yourself) Trouble Shooting Guide for Home Builders.

What qualifies me?

I was a builder for Hewlett Packard for Custom Setups and Modifications.  I was also Lead Troubleshooter at HP for my shift. I also have an MCSA (Microsoft Certified System Administrator) for Windows Server 2003 and Microsoft Windows XP (All Flavors). So I know a little more than most.  And if I don't know, I've gotta read up just like anybody else. 

***UPDATE!!  I've been a computer tech for the past year.  So I've slogged through Vista's Beta and Rollout.  Plus built many many Dual and Quad Core Systems.

Ok.

So, you've got some new computer components you'd like to put together to play games, look at pr0n, get a mail order bride, look at fetish sites, and generally annoy people with mindless prattle.

Yes you can throw all of your components into the case and turn it on and pray it works.  But this is a lot of time and headache if it doesn't.  So follow the steps below, take your time and you'll have a machine that works like a charm and it's easier to trouble shoot step by step.

Also it's important to note: DO YOUR HOMEWORK ON YOUR COMPONENTS.
Just because "The guy at the store said it should work," doesn't mean it will. 
Check things out before, minimize headaches later.

1.  SETUP YOUR WORKSPACE

First off.  You would want a static free enviroment.  Not many of us have that.  So just do your best to not build it on the carpet, or in your socks.  Touch something metal that's grounded (like your old computer that's still running) to discharge static.  You don't actually hear the ZAP sound untill it's a significant ammount of energy capable of frying a motherboard. (HP/Compaq told me this, so I tell you).